You are here

Our Trustees

Sat 7 Nov 2015

7 Principles of Public Life

1) Selflessness: Holders of public office should act solely in terms of the public interest.

2. Integrity: Holders of public office must avoid placing themselves under any obligation to people or organisations that might try inappropriately to influence them in their work. They should not act or take decisions in order to gain financial or other material benefits for themselves, their family, or their friends. They must declare and resolve any interests and relationships.

3. Objectivity: Holders of public office must act and take decisions impartially, fairly and on merit, using the best evidence and without discrimination or bias.

4. Accountability:Holders of public office are accountable to the public for their decisions and actions and must submit themselves to the scrutiny necessary to ensure this.

5. Openness: Holders of public office should act and take decisions in an open and transparent manner. Information should not be withheld from the public unless there are clear and lawful reasons for so doing.

6. Honesty: Holders of public office should be truthful.

7. Leadership: Holders of public office should exhibit these principles in their own behaviour. They should actively promote and robustly support the principles and be willing to challenge poor behaviour wherever it occurs.

Brief Biographies

Tim Loughton MP – Chairman

Tim was first elected to Parliament in 1997 as Member for East Worthing and Shoreham and has been re-elected in 2001, 2005, 2010 and most recently in 2015 each time with an increased majority.

Tim has held various positions during his time in Parliament. He was Shadow Minister for Environment from 2000, and Shadow Minister for Health and Children from 2003 during the Conservative Party’s time in opposition. He was appointed Parliamentary Under-Secretary for Children and Families following the 2010 General Election a position he held until 2012 during which time he led on several areas of successful reform in child protection, child sexual exploitation and adoption in particular.

From the backbenches, he continues to work vigorously in support of improved policies in the main areas of his expertise. He became chairman of Mindful Policy Group (MPG) in 2013 committed to promoting attachment science and also chairs the All Party Group for Conception to Age 2 (first 1001 days) which is undertaking important work to improve Government’s work in perinatal mental health and strong attachment for young children. He sits on the influential Home Affairs Select Committee. Tim also chairs a number of All Party Parliamentary Groups covering a wide range of issues, such as Archaeology, Hockey, The British Museum and also Wine and Spirits and is also Co-Chair for the APPG for Mindfulness and for Children.

Tessa Baradon – Clinical Trustee

Tessa is currently development and co-directorship of the International Training School for Infancy and Early Years (ITSIEY) - an international centre of excellence which provides evidence-oriented specialist training in infant mental health to practitioners who work with infants and young children. ITSIEY is a collaborative initiative between the Anna Freud Centre (UK), Tavistock & Portman Foundation Trust (UK) and Yale Child Study Centre (USA). 


Duncan McCourt - Trustee

Duncan supported Andrea Leadsom MP in the start-up phase of the charity PIP UK helping bring together policy, clinical and research expertise to enable charity commission status, start-up funding and business support. He has a background in economics and policy with a specialism in politics and a robust understanding of the importance of the first 1001 days of a child’s life for better health and wellbeing outcomes in the UK.

Chris Cuthbert - Trustee

Chris Cuthbert is Director of Development for the Big Lottery Fund’s £215m A Better Start programme, which aims to deliver local systems transformation and improve early child development outcomes.  Chris was previously Head of Strategy and Development at the NSPCC where he led a national programme of research, service design and policy development. Chris joined the NSPCC from the Cabinet Office where he was Deputy Director of the government’s Social Exclusion Task Force.  In this role, Chris was responsible for a programme of high profile policy development projects, including work on women offenders, the social impacts of the recession, young people’s aspirations in deprived communities, older people, rural disadvantage, primary care and social exclusion.

Dr Susan Pawlby – Institute of Psychiatry

Dr. Susan Pawlby is a Developmental Clinical Psychologist and Lecturer in the Section of Perinatal Psychiatry at King’s College London, the Institute of Psychiatry and a member of the Multi-Disciplinary Team on the Channi Kumar Mother and Baby Unit at the Bethlem Royal Hospital, South London and Maudsley Trust. She trained as a child psychologist and has over 30 years of experience working with mothers and babies both in clinical and research contexts. She trained in observational methodology and has pioneered the use of video feedback techniques in supporting the developing relationship between mothers with severe mental illness and their infants.